vogler©chkern
 
 
Tim Vogler, violin
Frank Reinecke, violin
Stefan Fehlandt, viola
Stephan Forck, violoncello
 
 
Individuality finding harmonious expression in ensemble – this has to be the quintessence of the Vogler Quartet, an ensemble which can claim the distinction of retaining its original membership since its formation in 1985. With an intelligent approach to the genre of chamber music, a brilliant playing technique, interpretive tactfulness and a vibrant ensemble spirit, Tim Vogler, Frank Reinecke, Stefan Fehlandt and Stephan Forck have created a unique string quartet sound which consistently offers new insights into the genre.

This East German ensemble had its beginnings at the Hanns Eisler Musical Academy in Berlin. It became internationally renowned in 1986 only one year after its foundation as the first prize winner of the famous Evian string quartet competition. Eberhard Feltz, György Kurtág, and the LaSalle Quartet, notably Walter Levin, subsequently sponsored the quartet and became influential mentors.

The ensemble’s extensive repertoire of classical literature from Haydn to Bartók as well as the Second Viennese School is complemented by both contemporary and lesser known works. The four musicians have performed compositions by Karl Amadeus Hartmann and Morton Feldman, including Feldman’s monumental Quartet No. 2. Together with the Arditti Quartet, the group organised a cycle of Rihm’s works at the occasion of the EXPO 2000. Among the world premières are compositions by Moritz Eggert, Frank Michael Beyer, Ian Wilson, Jörg Widmann, Mauricio Kagel, and Erhard Grosskopf. The world première of a string quartet by Taner Akyol is scheduled for July 2014.

The Vogler Quartet actively broadens its field by collaborating with renowned artists. During its long career the group has performed with Lynn Harrell, James Levine, Bernard Greenhouse, Boris Pergamenschikow and Menahem Pressler. Projects are also underway with Ute Lemper, Salome Kammer, Tatjana Masurenko, Jochen Kowalski, Jörg Widmann, David Orlowsky, Finghin Collins, and Oliver Triendl.

The four musicians are as much at home in the musical centres of Europe as they are in America, Japan, Australia, and New Zealand. They have performed in all the major venues and featured in many European and American chamber music series. Since 1993, the quartet has organised its own concert series at the Berliner Konzerthaus am Gendarmenmarkt (The concert hall at the Gendarmenmarkt in Berlin). In early 2000 they began a concert series in the city of Neubrandenburg, and in the same year began the annual chamber music festival “Music in Drumcliffe” in Sligo, Ireland. In 2002 they took over the artistic direction of the Kammermusiktage (chamber music festival) at Homburg/Saar in Germany.

Besides their concert activities, the musicians actively sponsor young talent. They teach classes at colleges in Berlin, Leipzig, Stuttgart, and Dublin, and give master classes for professional quartets in Europe and overseas. As the successor of the Melos Quartet, the Vogler Quartet has also held the chair for chamber music at the music college in Stuttgart. The instrumentalists are among the most active German chamber music ensembles working with youth and children. They have initiated numerous projects during the annual chamber music festival “Music in Drumcliffe” in Ireland and since 2005 at the award winning “Nordhessische Kindermusiktage” (The North Hesse Children’s Music Festival).

The discography of the Vogler Quartet features a number of highly praised recordings for BMG/RCA, Nimbus, col legno, and cpo. Since 2005, the ensemble has been represented under the Günter Hänssler “profile” edition, and has released Schubert and Mendelssohn interpretations on this label. The album “Paris Days – Berlin Nights” with Ute Lemper and Stefan Malzew (released on the Sony label) was nominated for a Grammy award. The quartet is currently recording the complete quartets by Dvorák for cpo. In April 2014, the Vogler Quartet will publish a tango album in collaboration with bandoneon player Marcelo Nisinman for “Phil.harmonie”.

 
 
Download Biography as PDF
 
–> English
–> English, short

vogler©chkern
 
 
Tim Vogler, Violine
Frank Reinecke, Violine
Stefan Fehlandt, Viola
Stephan Forck, Violoncello
 
 
Individualität, die sich im Gemeinsamen entfaltet – hier liegt wohl das Geheimnis des Vogler Quartetts, welches seit 1985 in unveränderter Besetzung weltweit eine einzigartige Karriere verfolgt. Mit kammermusikalischer Intelligenz, spieltechnischer Souveränität und interpretatorischem Feingefühl lassen Tim Vogler, Frank Reinecke, Stefan Fehlandt und Stephan Forck einen unverkennbaren Streichquartettklang entstehen, der dank der lebendigen Ensemblekultur immer neue Perspektiven gewinnt.

Der erste Preis beim berühmten Streichquartettwettbewerb in Evian machte das ostdeutsche Ensemble von der Berliner Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ bereits ein Jahr nach der Gründung, 1986, international bekannt. Eberhard Feltz, György Kurtág und das LaSalle Quartett, hier vor allem Walter Levin, förderten das Quartett und wurden zu prägenden Mentoren.

Sein umfangreiches Repertoire, das die klassische Quartettliteratur von Haydn bis zu Bartók und der Zweiten Wiener Schule umfasst, erweitert das Ensemble mit weniger bekannten Werken und neuer Musik. Die vier Musiker führten u.a. die Werke von Karl Amadeus Hartmann sowie das mehrstündige Quartett Nr. 2 von Morton Feldman auf und realisierten zusammen mit dem Arditti Quartett einen Rihm-Zyklus zur EXPO 2000. Zu den Uraufführungen zählen Kompositionen von Moritz Eggert, Frank Michael Beyer, Ian Wilson, Jörg Widmann, Mauricio Kagel und Erhard Grosskopf. Für Juli 2014 ist die Uraufführung eines Streichquartetts von Taner Akyol geplant.

Regelmäßig arbeitet das Vogler Quartett mit namhaften Künstlern zusammen und vergrößert damit sein Spektrum. In seiner langen Karriere konzertierte das Quartett u.a. mit Lynn Harrell, James Levine, Bernard Greenhouse, Boris Pergamenschikow und Menahem Pressler. Derzeit sind gemeinsame Projekte mit Ute Lemper, Salome Kammer, Tatjana Masurenko, Jochen Kowalski, Jörg Widmann, David Orlowsky, Finghin Collins und Oliver Triendl geplant.

In den europäischen Musikzentren fühlen sich die vier Musiker ebenso zu Hause wie in den USA, Japan, Australien und Neuseeland. Sie waren bereits auf nahezu allen wichtigen Konzertpodien zu Gast und spielten in diversen europäischen und nordamerikanischen Kammermusikreihen. Seit 1993 veranstaltet das Vogler Quartett im Berliner Konzerthaus am Gendarmenmarkt eine eigene Konzertreihe, mit Beginn des Jahres 2000 ebenfalls in Neubrandenburg. 2000 gründete das Ensemble das jährlich stattfindende Kammermusikfestival „Musik in Drumcliffe“ im irischen Sligo und übernahm 2002 die künstlerische Leitung der Kammermusiktage Homburg/Saar.

Neben der Konzerttätigkeit engagieren sich die Musiker stark für den musikalischen Nachwuchs. Sie unterrichten an den Hochschulen in Berlin, Leipzig, Stuttgart und Dublin und geben Meisterkurse für professionelle Quartette in Europa und Übersee. Als Nachfolger des Melos-Quartetts hatte das Vogler Quartett die Professur für Kammermusik an der Musikhochschule in Stuttgart inne. Im Bereich der Musikvermittlung zählen die Instrumentalisten zu den aktivsten deutschen Kammermusikensembles. Sie verwirklichen Kinder- und Jugendprojekte beim jährlichen Festival „Musik in Drumcliffe“ in Irland und seit 2005 bei den mehrfach ausgezeichneten Nordhessischen Kindermusiktagen.

Die Diskographie des Vogler Quartetts beinhaltet eine Reihe hochgelobter Einspielungen für die Labels BMG/RCA, Nimbus, col legno und cpo. Seit 2005 ist die Formation bei „Profil”-Edition Günter Hänssler unter Vertrag und hat dort Schubert- und Mendelssohn-Interpretationen veröffentlicht. Die bei Sony erschienene CD „Paris Days – Berlin Nights“ mit Ute Lemper und Stefan Malzew erhielt eine Grammy-Nominierung. Derzeit entsteht eine Gesamtaufnahme der Dvořák-Quartette für das Label cpo. Im April 2014 legt das Vogler Quartett bei „Phil.harmonie“ ein Tango-Album mit dem Bandoneonisten Marcelo Nisinman vor.

 
 
Download Biografie als PDF Datei
 
–> Deutsch
–> Deutsch, Kurzfassung
–> English
–> English, short